Executive Profiles

The Winners: 2019 Executive Excellence Awards

Honoring leaders from Amazon, KeyBank, Smartsheet and many more Seattle-area companies.

By Bill Virgin January 31, 2019


This article originally appeared in the February 2019 issue of Seattle magazine.

This article appears in print in the February 2019 issue. See more about the winners of the 2019 Executive Excellence Awards here. Click here for a free subscription.

Congratulations to the honorees in Seattle Business magazines seventh celebration of outstanding achievement in the C-suite. The Executive Excellence Awards recognize leaders for exemplary performance in the day-to-day operation of complex corporate ecosystems as well as in the larger context of providing a moral compass to the people whose lives they influence directly and indirectly.

Learn about this years 14 honorees below.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Michael Garvey, Saltchuk Resources Inc.

Executive Excellence Awards:

Carol K. Nelson, KeyBank

Orlando Ashford, Holland America Line

Patrick Callahan, Urban Renaissance Group

Robert Moser, Laird Norton Wealth Management

Rajeev Singh, Accolade Inc.

Julie Stein, Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture

Board of Directors, Columbia Bank

Manny Medina, Outreach Inc.

Rob Martin, BDA LLC

Mark Mader, Smartsheet Inc.

Bill Hallerman, Catholic Community Services

Laurie Stewart, Sound Community Bank

David Zapolsky, Amazon

The Judges

Seattle Business recruited these individuals to evaluate nominees for the 2019 Executive Excellence Awards and to determine this years honorees.

Bruce Brooks, senior vice president and general counsel, Craft3
Jon Fine, president and CEO, United Way of King County
Jim Jiambalvo, dean, Michael G. Foster School of Business, University of Washington
JERRY LEE, former chairman of the board, MG2 Architecture
Joseph M. Phillips, dean, Albers School of Business and Economics, Seattle University
Heather Redman, cofounder and managing parter, Flying Fish Partners
Claire Verity, CEO, Pacific Northwest States, UnitedHealthcare
Roy Whitehead, executive chairman of the board, Washington Federal

Follow Us