Leaders in Health Care 2012


Health care can be a lightning-rod topic. But when you strip away the politics, one thing is certain: We all want the best. And we want it to be affordable, accessible and accountable.
     This quest for the best has informed Seattle Business magazine’s Leaders in Health Care Awards program since its inception in 2009. Each year, our judges evaluate dozens of worthy nominees to arrive at a final determination of absolute excellence in the health care realm.
     Something that’s particularly noteworthy about this year’s class is a remarkable geographical diversity that speaks both to the expanding reach of this awards program and the sweep of influential leadership statewide. From Seattle to Pullman, from Walla Walla to Yakima to Everett, the recipients of the 2012 Leaders in Health Care Awards  provide a clear picture of how far and wide the outstanding stewardship of health care policies and health care benefits extends.
     We believe the profiles of the winners and the Silver Award recipients in the following links (see below) paint a portrait of great courage, compassion and consideration. We invite you to see for yourself.


Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Linneweh, CEO, Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital

Outstanding Health Care Executive: Rick Cooper, CEO, The Everett Clinic

Silver: Barbara Trehearne, Group Health Cooperative, and Johnese Spisso, UW Medicine

Outstanding Health Care Professional: Margaret L. Hall, Northwest Hospital & Medical Center

Silver Richard Caggiano, Pullman Regional Hospital, and Shannon Fitzgerald, Seattle Children's Hospital

Innovation in Medical Devices: Physio-Control      Silver: Mobisante

Innovation in Biopharmaceuticals: Seattle Genetics     Silver: Amgen 

Global Health Organization: SightLife

Community Outreach: Providence Senior and Community Services

Silver: Seattle Cancer Care Alliance and UW Mediciine

Wellness Program (Western Washington)

Group Health Cooperative

Wellness Program (Eastern Washington)

Baker Boyer Bank


2012 Leaders in Health Care Judges

Leo Greenawalt, Former CEO, Washington State Hospital Association

Mary McWilliams, Executive director, Puget Sound Health Alliance

Joseph Phillips, Dean, Albers School of Business and Economics, Seattle University

Chris Rivera, President, Washington Biotechnology and Biomedical Association

Dr. Roger Stark, Health care policy analyst, Washington Policy Center

Linda Tieman, Executive director, Washington Center for Nursing

Greg Vigdor, President and CEO, Washington Health Foundation


View the Leaders in Health Care recap video

Related Content


Within the critical world of health care, what happens when the patient is the hospital building? How do Healthcare Facility Directors & Construction Managers make needed changes to their aging buildings, while ensuring no downtime or loss of comfort to their patients?

Dr. Paul Ramsey begins most weekday mornings by rowing on Lake Union. On weekends, he’s likely to do bike rides of 50 or 100 miles. These rituals — daily journeys, if you will — have helped prepare him for a 40-year-plus career in medicine and administration.

In a partnership with the Washington Health Alliance (WHA), Seattle Business magazine this year selected one category from the WHA’s annual Community Checkup ranking of health care organizations and looked at the overall performance of the medical groups serving commercially insured patients.

For Fred Hutch researcher Dr. Oliver Press, academic medical research is all about sharing and collaborating. “If enough people work together on a problem,” he asserts, “we can conquer it.”