The 2017 Washington Manufacturing Awards

Here is a summary of the 16 honorees.

By Bill Virgin April 25, 2017


This article originally appeared in the May 2017 issue of Seattle magazine.

Sustainability has two applications in manufacturing these days. Theres the meaning weve grown so accustomed to that its almost a buzzword operating in a way that makes smart use of resources without either the process or the product harming the environment. But the more traditional sense of the word is building a business that can sustain itself, enduring time, change and competition. Unsustainable businesses dont stick around long enough to do sustainable things. The 2017 Washington Manufacturing Awards honor companies for both versions. We recognize those that have proven theyre built for the long haul, compiling enviable records of success and innovation. And with a new category of Sustainability, we recognize firms that are making features of sustainability not just a part of their operating philosophy but also their business model. In the pages ahead, learn how the best of Washington manufacturers match the meaning of sustainability … however its defined.

Food/Beverage Processor of the Year
Gold: Yakima Chief Hopunion, Yakima
Silver: No-Li Brewhouse, Spokane

Building Products
Gold: Canyon Creek Cabinet Company, Monroe
Silver: EZ-Access, Algona

Emerging Manufacturer
Gold: Key Compounding Pharmacy, Federal Way

Gold: Feed Commodities, Tacoma
Silver: Composite Recycling Technology Center, Port Angeles

Gold: Gear Aid, Bellingham
Silver: Sterlitech, Kent

Nonprofit Manufacturer of the Year
Gold: Skills Inc., Auburn

Manufacturer of the Year Small Firms
Gold: AeroGo Inc., Tukwila
Aeroforge, Puyallup

Manufacturer of the Year Midsize Firms
Gold: AccraFab Inc., Liberty Lake
Vaupell, Seattle

Manufacturer of the Year Large Firms
Gold: Aero Precision, Tacoma

Manufacturing Executive of the Year
Kent Wall:
President and CEO, Portco Packaging, Woodland

2017 Washington Manufacturing Awards Judges
Loren Lyon, president, Impact Washington
David McGiverin, president, Northwest Food Processors Association
Thomas McLaughlin, executive director, Center for Advanced Manufacturing Puget Sound (CAMPS)
Barbara Mead, partner, Moss Adams
Ron Rauch, shareholder, Clark Nuber
Bill Virgin, editor and publisher, Washington Manufacturing Alert
Gary White, director of business retention and expansion, Tri-City Development Council

Follow Us