Making us Better: 2014 Leaders in Health Care Awards


The 2014 Leaders in Health Care Awards offer evidence of the 
enormous impact of UW Medicine. The entity that owns or operates the University of Washington Medical Center, Harborview Medical Center, Northwest Hospital & Medical Center, Valley Medical Center, UW Neighborhood Clinics, UW Physicians, the UW School of Medicine and Airlift Northwest affects the lives of thousands of people every day.

It’s hardly surprising that 10 of the 25 honorees this year are affiliated in some way with UW Medicine. Still, health care in Washington state remains a remarkably diversified industry, populated by brilliant and heroic people doing noble things for selfless reasons. We salute all of this year’s inspiring honorees for their enthusiastic support of excellent health care.

2014 Leaders in Health Care Finalists

Outstanding Health Care Executive

Winners: Johnese Spisso
Chief Health System Officer, UW Medicine; Vice President Medical Affairs, University of Washington

Joyce Jackson
President and CEO, Northwest Kidney Centers

Silver Award: Claire Trescott, M.D.
Medical Director of Primary Care, Group Health Cooperative

Outstanding Health Care Practitioner

Winner: J. Randall Curtis, M.D.
Director, UW Palliative Care Center of Excellence

Silver Awards: Sean Adelman, M.D.
Orthopedic Surgeon, Group Health Cooperative

Elizabeth Loggers, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Member, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research 
Center; Clinical Assistant Professor, UW School of Medicine

Achievement in Medical Research

Winner: William Catterall, M.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology, UW School of Medicine

Silver Award: Gregory Belenky, M.D.
Director, WSU Sleep and Performance Research Center

Achievement in Biopharmaceuticals

Winner: Kineta

Silver Award: Novo Nordisk

Achievement in Medical Devices

Winner: Paul Yager, Ph.D.
Professor, UW Department of Bioengineering

Silver Awards: Brian Glaister
President and CEO, Cadence Biomedical

Conrad Smits
SVP Philips Healthcare, CEO Ultrasound Division

Achievement in Community Outreach (Individuals)

Winner: Beti Thompson, Ph.D.
Center for Community Health Promotion, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Silver Awards: Julie Gralow, M.D.
Director, Breast Medical Oncology, Seattle Cancer Care 
Alliance; Clinical Research Division Member, Fred 
Hutchinson Cancer Research Cente

Phil Dyer
Senior Vice President, Health Management Services, Kibble & Prentice, a USI Company

Achievement in Community Outreach (Organizations)

Winner: Swedish Community Benefits Program
Swedish Medical Center

Silver Awards: WWAMI Program
UW Medicine

Silence Whooping Cough
Group Health Foundation

Achievement in Wellness Programs

Winner: Faculty & Staff Wellness Program
Western Washington University

Silver Award: Live Well
Miller Nash LLP

Outstanding Global Health Organization

Winner: Grand Challenges in Global Health
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Silver Awards: Department of Global Health
University of Washington

Disaster Relief
World Vision

Lifetime Achievement 

Frederick  Appelbaum, M.D. 

Executive VP and Deputy Director, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center; Executive Director and President, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance


Judges for the 2014 Leaders in Health Care Awards

Lisa Cohen, Executive Director, Washington Global Health Alliance 

Leo Greenawalt, Retired President, Washington State Hospital Association

Mary McWilliams, Executive Director, Washington Health Alliance

Joseph Phillips, Ph.D., Dean, Albers School of Business and Economics, Seattle University

Chris Rivera, President and CEO, Washington 
Biotechnology & Biomedical Association

Roger Stark, M.D., Health Care Policy Analyst, Washington Policy Center

Seattle Business Magazine to Honor 18 Outstanding Leaders in Health Care

Seattle Business Magazine to Honor 18 Outstanding Leaders in Health Care

Honorees to be celebrated on March 2.

Seattle Business magazine has announced finalists for its 2017 Leaders in Health Care Awards. Chosen by a panel of judges, the finalists are individuals and institutions leading the effort to improve Washington's health care sector. This year's finalists are:

1.    Benaroya Research Institute at Virginia Mason
2.    Al Fisk, MD, The Everett Clinic
3.    Genoa
4.    Group Health Cooperative
5.    Cynthia Hecker, Northwest Hospital & Medical Center
6.    Bryce Helgerson, Legacy Salmon Creek Medical Center
7.    Norm Hubbard, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
8.    Peter Myles McGough, MD, UW Medicine
9.    Navos
10.  Pacific Medical Centers
11.  Oliver W. Press, MD, PhD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
12.  Paul Ramsey, MD, UW Medicine
13.  SCI Solutions
14.  Seattle Genetics
15.  Preston Simmons, FACHE, Providence Health & Services, Everett
16.  Jeffrey J. Tomlin, MD, EvergreenHealth
17.  Virginia Mason Medical Center
18.  Wellpepper

Gold and silver award winners will be honored at the Leaders in Health Care Awards gala on March 2 at Bell Harbor International Conference Center in Seattle. Winners will be recognized in a variety of categories, including Outstanding Medical Center Executive, Achievement in Community Outreach and Innovation in Health Care Delivery. For more information, contact Michael Romoser at West Monroe Partners is presenting sponsor for the 2017 Leaders in Health Care Awards program.